

City of Sisters 75th Anniversary Jubilee Minute 1946-2021

FOR: July 28, 2019, Council Meeting

Miss a City Council Meeting at your peril.

<u>In January of 1949, three new city councilors were sworn in:</u> Demaris, McKinzie, and Olson. The two continuing council members were: Mr. Bush and Mr. Wakefield (who was not in attendance at this meeting.)

Nominations were requested for Mayor.

- Continuing council member Mr. Bush was nominated by Mr. Olson; Mr. Bush declined.
- Mr. Olson was nominated by Mr. Bush; Mr. Olson declined
- Mr. McKinzie was nominated by Mr. Demaris; Mr. Mckinzie declined
- Mr. Wakefield, who was not in attendance, was nominated by Mr. Bush and promptly elected mayor.

Mr. Bush was then elected Council President and took over as chair of the meeting in Mayor Wakefield's absence.

At the next meeting on February 10th, Mayor Wakefield called the meeting to order and read his resignation letter to the council. His resignation was accepted.

Mr. Bush was then nominated and elected as Mayor, and Mr. Demaris nominated and elected President of the Council with only Mr. Demaris voting NO.

At the July Council Meeting, Mayor Bush informed the council that Mr. McKenzie and Council President Demaris had not been to council meetings for a period of sixty days or more and, according to the city charter, the offices were to be declared vacant.

Mayor Bush appointed Dick Walters and Newt Perry as new councilmen. This was agreeable with the attending councilmen: Bush, Olson, and Wakefield.

These council members had good attendance for the remainder of their terms.